Book Reviews

 

Available now in paperback and e-formats.

The reviews are in!

When I entered the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest, my never-before-seen novel had a working title – The Price.

 

Reception for Lili’s story was so strong that I knew my book needed to be named after my heroine. Lili.

.Check out what the reviewers had to say about Lili:

ABNA Publishers Weekly Review for Lili

Body issues and sexual harassment are common and tricky subjects to tackle, much less both within the same story, yet the author manages here to build a believable and compelling story with a somewhat satisfying ending. Despite coming from a very fashionable family, 14-year-old Lili’s robust figure and lack of dancing talent set her apart and lead to her expulsion from her aunt’s ballet school. To make matters worse, she is regularly verbally harassed by three male students. Excellent depictions of Lili’s humiliation, particularly in a memorable volleyball scene, endear the reader to this sensitive and artistic character. The

Coming Soon

harassment escalates into more physical and public embarrassment; when a concerned sewing teacher implores Lili to confide in her, Lili continues to keep the harassment quiet. Lili’s feelings of chaos and horror are skillfully portrayed when the harassment turns into cyber bullying. The extent of Lili’s misery is shockingly apparent when she deliberately cuts her breasts. Fortunately, Lili’s stylish French grandmother provides much needed guidance, helping Lili gain confidence. Although Lili’s grandmother is a little too detached from the bullying, and Lili’s eventual revenge is a bit too good to be true, readers will immediately align themselves with Lili and her dilemma.

 

ABNA Expert Reviewer

What is the strongest aspect of this excerpt?

A wonderful voice of a 14 year old with authentic feelings, great dialogue and great description of what is going on in the different settings. You could feel the hurt Lily endured from her aunt and you could literally sense the conflict in the atmosphere in the kitchen. The description of her parents were great. The plot is wonderful and it leaves the reader wanting to read much more! The writing style is also very good, it really supports the voice of this teen-ager.

Coming Soon

What aspect needs the most work?

I liked this exerpt very much as it is. Perhaps the author can work on the title a bit. The story is so much more appealing than the title implies.

What is your overall opinion of this excerpt?

A great exerpt, a wonderful beginning of a very good story.

 

ABNA Expert Reviewer

What is the strongest aspect of this excerpt?

I really enjoyed this excerpt. The introduction is compelling, the settings well drawn, dialogue and internal dialogue sound right, and the main character spunky and endearing. Family dynamics are interesting and energetic. I really, really enjoyed this. I did read another excerpt related to bullying, but this one is so much more realistic and engaging. I feel drawn in and eager to read the next chapter.

What aspect needs the most work?

It may take a little work to keep the family cultural heritage straight.

What is your overall opinion of this excerpt?

I loved it. This is by far the most compelling YA excerpt I have read yet in the contest. The voice of the narrator sounds realistic, she is likeable, and she is going to become, I believe, a great role model for tweens– standing up for herself and loving herself.

And here’s a glimpse at what my readers have to say:

Customer Reviews

The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry

 

28 Reviews

5 star:

 (27)

4 star:

 (1)

3 star:

 (0)

2 star:

 (0)

1 star:

 (0)

Average Customer Review5.0 out of 5 stars (28 customer reviews)Share your thoughts with other customersCreate your own review

.

.
.

.

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Very appropriate read for today’s teens!, April 23, 2012ByMary Beth Hady (Alpharetta, GA United States) – See all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

This is a great read for young adults….contemporary and interesting, it also sends a valuable message to today’s youth. In a time when bullying is a major issue, it’s nice to have an interesting and well-written novel for our kids to enjoy!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Current Topic with Engaging Prose, April 22, 2012

By

DittoSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Loved the excerpt…definitely draws you in. A good story appeals to all age groups….looking forward to the release.

“Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.”
‘ Groucho Marx, The Essential Groucho: Writings For By And About Groucho Marx

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, April 16, 2012

By

Susan DumonSee all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

The Price is an exceptional work of young adult fiction that is both realistic and compelling. Ms. Lane’s story brought back memories from my experiences in middle school as an early bloomer and I will be sharing it with nieces. A distinctive read to be shared between mothers and daughters.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK FOR TEENAGE GIRLS, April 14, 2012

By

marilyndumon (ATLANTA, GEORGIA, US) – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

THIS SUBJECT IS ONE THAT TEENAGERS ENCOUNTER DURING THOSE DIFFICULT GROWNING UP YEARS. FAMILY, SIBLINGS, RELATIVES, AND SCHOOL MATES ALL INFLUENCE THOSE FORMATIVE YEARS. I BELIEVE THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ALL TEENS, ESPECIALLY THOSE THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED MANY OF LILLE’S CIRCUMSTANCES. HOW DOES SHE OVERCOME AND MATURE INTO A WONDERUL AND PRODUCTIVE WOMAN? I BET ON LILLE!

5.0 out of 5 stars Great story for today’s teens, April 10, 2012

By

C. Rainey (Surrey, UK) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

As a Mom of a tween, I will encourage my daughter to read this book. So many of the books for tweens today, are not current enough for them to really associate; but this book does it. I look forward to reading more!!

5.0 out of 5 stars Love Lili!, April 9, 2012

By

Grey Goose Gal “Pat” (USA) – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Although I never had the same physical issues she did (I was the opposite – petite and way too thin), most of us can relate to phases of our lives when we felt as if we just didn’t fit in. The author has grabbed our attention with her compassionate writing and created a young heroine our family is looking forward to getting to know better in the rest of the book. I’m going to share this excerpt with my 11-year-old granddaughter and post her comments. Can’t wait to read more of Lili’s story!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational story for any age, April 7, 2012

By

MelissaSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Michelle Lane’s writing is captivating. The story is so relatable and it gives a feeling of triumph. An inspirational read for anyone of any age.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great plot, compelling characters!, April 6, 2012

By

LDDSDDSee all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

As a mother of a tween, this book sounds like everyday reality facing our children. Our new world of instant technology can make the teenage years even harder. A book about a strong female character that can stand up to these challanges will provide a great story about bravery and compassion to all teenagers. Can’t wait to read more!

 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Lili is an excellent role model…, April 4, 2012

By

gsxrbonSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

I think a book like this is just what every teen needs to read. This book is very relevant in today’s society, with the pressure to look a certain way. To act a certain way. With bullying in schools. Lili is a strong believable character, which shows it’s okay to be “different.” She is an excellent role model for girls and boys.

I can’t wait to see what she does next…

 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Subject Matter is Timely, Story and Characters are Timeless, April 4, 2012

By

lisagrantvailSee all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Full Disclosure: I am NOT the target audience for this book, having left my YA years long ago. Even still, I wanted to share my enjoyment of this excerpt. There were so many elements to personally relate to! For starters, I was cringing through the opening ballet scene, remembering my own short-lived attempts at ballet and how much I felt like an outsider. In my case, all the other girls had been studying for years and I was brand-new. My mom wanted me to take it because I was clumsy, hoping it would make me more graceful. Yeah, that went well! :/ As the story progressed and we learned more about Lili and her body, I was instantly reminded of my best friend growing up, Sherri. I was stick thin and completely flat-chested but Sherri was a buxom early bloomer. The boys teased and came on to her unmercifully, as early as the 6th grade. Things were said to her that no girl that age should have heard, very sexual stuff. I’ve got to hand it to her, she handled those boys really well! Then, I was chuckling knowingly as Lily interacted with her little brother (or should I say reacted!), having had such an obnoxious pest for a brother myself. But when she comforts him just an hour later (when the parents announce they are leaving them once again), I was reminded of the dual roles we take with our younger siblings. And finally, I was totally digging the unusual household Lili is growing up in. This is not something I can relate to (coming from a classic middle-class American household) which makes Lili’s French designer mom and handsome Spanish father all the more intriguing!

The story line goes into the unfortunately timely subject matter of cyber-bullying (something us 1980’s pre-internet kids were mercifully ahead of) but the coming-of-age story itself feels pretty timeless. Could be the “Are you There God? It’s me, Margaret” of a new generation of young adult readers. There are several girls I know who need to read this- I’ll pass it on!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read for all ages!, April 4, 2012

By

Melissa A. (Washington, DC) – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Wasnt sure what to expect, but was absolutely pulled into the story./love the writing style. I think this is great for all ages…moms and daughters alike! Highly recommend!

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars The Price is excellent YA fiction–a must read for teens, April 2, 2012

By

sergemarinovichSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

It is easy to see why Michelle Lane’s THE PRICE has made it to the quarter finals for the ABNA contest. Lili is a wonderful character–sympathetic, real, and compelling. Her voice is very authentic and nicely developed. I wish I had more to read, but this is a highly promising start. I am eager to dig deeper into her family situation. I feel like this is a really important story, because the epidemic of bullying is a serious problem that needs everyone’s attention. I look forward to reading the rest of the story!

 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, April 2, 2012

By

MM18See all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Oh, do I feel for Lili! She is such a great character, and I think the way her story unfolds will truly be special. Michelle Lane knows how to capture the voice of a teenage girl, and makes you really care about her. I’m looking forward to seeing how Lili handles her situation, and to meeting the rest of her family–I think they’ll have a big role in this story.

 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to the rest, March 31, 2012

By

Scott DSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Oh to be a teenager. We’ve all been there. The world we live in can be full of cruel people and difficult challenges. As a parent of a young girl, I feel for Lili. I hope my daughter doesn’t have to deal with these things, but somehow I know she will have her own challenges. We are both looking forward to this book’s release, so we can see how Lili faces her struggles.

 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Want more please!, March 31, 2012

By

JLOPTNYCSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

As someone who dealt with bullying and feeling insecure as a teenager, I totally appreciated how Lili felt. She sounds like a genuine teenager, and she is very easy to sympathize with. I wish there was more than just this excerpt, because I was drawn in to the story right away and wanted to keep reading.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great YA theme, March 31, 2012

By

LovetoreadSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

This is an excellent start to what I am sure will be a wonderful story. Reading about and watching the effects of bullying in the news and online is heart-wrenching. I think Lili’s story is really important for teens today, especially girls who are struggling with their changing bodies, hormones, and an oftentimes cruel school environment. I think Michelle Lane is doing something remarkable by shining a light on a very real problem. I can’t wait to see how Lili overcomes her obstacles!

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, March 30, 2012

By

Elizabeth CoppsSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Michelle Lane doesn’t disappoint in this timely tale of how a teenage girl is bullied to the point of self-destruction. Wish I’d had a copy of this book when I was 14.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Relatable story for modern teens, March 30, 2012

By

RedHypeSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Lili seems so real. I felt like I was listening to the story of a real teenager–her problems at school and home are true for so many young girls, and I really understood her. The author does a great job of sucking in the reader right away, and making them want to see what happens with Lili. I was curious to learn more about her family, but I am sure that more of that comes out later in the story. I especially liked the scene at the ballet studio, even though it was really sad to see Lili be unceremoniously “fired” by her own aunt. I can’t wait to read more of The Price!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Story About Bullying, March 30, 2012

By

Sarah GiannantonioSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

As the mother of a young girl, my heart really goes out to Lili. She seems like such a sweet, sensitive girl, and you really find yourself rooting for her from the start. I feel like she is up against some problems that a lot of young girls face, and it will be very interesting to see what happens.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry [Kindle Edition], March 30, 2012

By

Emily DSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Michelle Lane has really done a wonderful job with this story, based on what I read. Bullying continues to be such a problem, and I think Lili is a great advocate for today’s teens. I especially appreciated seeing her struggles with her changing body, and felt like I could really relate to her. I think this is a really important story.

5.0 out of 5 stars Strong protagonist, great prose, March 30, 2012

By

Myles EhrlichSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

THE PRICE is a strong young adult novel that offers a realistic view of modern life as a high school teenager. I was especially impressed by Michelle Lane’s knowledge with her subject, which helped to make Lili a complete and believable protagonist. I would definitely recommend this to a teen dealing with any kind of bully, either at school or at home.

5.0 out of 5 stars Current topic and a must read!, March 30, 2012

By

Marissa A WilkinSee all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Great excerpt! Very important topic, handled incredibly well by the author. I can’t wait to read the rest of it!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, March 30, 2012

By

Erin O’ReillySee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Lili is the perfect character to tell a story about bullying and sexual harassment in schools. She seems real and like someone who will resonate with young readers. I want to share this book with my teenage daughter and her friends–I think it’s really great!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, March 30, 2012

By

Estelle BARTH (NEW YORK, NY, US) – See all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Wow!! This is probably the best excerpt I’ve read from the quarter finalists! Lili is so great. Sweet, sensitive but also strong.Great work from the author.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!, March 30, 2012

By

cynthiaSee all my reviews

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

“What a great excerpt! Lili has the voice of an authentic teen, struggling with many of the problems that young girls deal with today. I found what I read really engaging, and I can’t wait to read more!”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a great read for every young teen female, March 30, 2012

By

Bob DUMON “Bob D.” (New Bern, North Carolina United States) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

While this teaser wasn’t long enough to get a real sense of how the book will be developed, it did provide us with enough insight into the main character to like her and to want to find out what happens to her. Michelle has done a fine job describing what may be a fairly typical situation… children who are the “victims” of their working parents fame, i.e., children faced with a lack of attention from their parents resulting from their parents’ busy career schedules. There is the expected BFF who lends a sympathetic ear, and a hint of the grandmother to come with whom the main character will, I suspect, emotionally bond and rely on during her troubling teen years. Sounds like a book every young teen will want to read. Nice work!

 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

4.0 out of 5 stars Pulled me in, March 29, 2012

By

Julia WagnerSee all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

I have to start off by saying this isn’t my preferred genre – but is sucked me in. I love Lili – right from the start. Her character is relatable and we feel for her and her insecurities. The author does a wonderful job of showing and not telling, which keeps the reader involved. My one major criticism is that with the opening is a 3rd person perspective – we have the aunt speaking, and there is no hint it’s in 1st person until BAM halfway through the second paragraph there’s a “we”. It yanked me right from the story and I felt like I was dumped on my head. It took me a few paragraphs to settle into it. Also, it keeps us from knowing our narrator until a little further into the story – we should have a sense of who she is right from the start. So, if there was a slight tweak at the beginning so we knew we were in Lili’s perspective right from the start it would flow much more smoothly. It’s very well written, and I fell in love with Lili and would love to read more.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars The Price has a real feel to it., March 27, 2012

By

Melissa Koberlein “melkoberlein”See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: The Price – 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

I really enjoyed The Price excerpt. I was drawn in, making me believe in the characters. Ballet is tough, especially for those that don’t have the natural physique for the vocation. Lili, even though she comes from a dancing family, falls into this category.

My only question would be about Lili’s relationship with her mother. It reads as though she doesn’t care for her mother much. I know that Lili is distraught, but why does she not slump down right when she breaks the vase and feel like she can talk to her mother? After reading the excerpt I get the impression that her mother is unapproachable and unsympathetic. Is that the case?

The excerpt made me feel enmeshed and wondering what comes next for Lili. She is the normal girl, made to feel the outcast, and I bought it in the end, easily, in fact. Overall, I think The Price is a good story. I am curious about where it is going and I would like to read more. I think Lili feels like a real person, the character development is top notch. What will happen? What is in store for Lili? The answer to those questions will have a great impact on the overall success of the novel. Great job, I really connected with this excerpt!

More to come . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share 'Book Reviews' on AddToAny Share 'Book Reviews' on Delicious Share 'Book Reviews' on Facebook Share 'Book Reviews' on Google+ Share 'Book Reviews' on reddit Share 'Book Reviews' on StumbleUpon Share 'Book Reviews' on Twitter Share 'Book Reviews' on Email Pin It!